top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTaylor Weaver

Heartbreak

Welcome back to another blog! This week I decided to dig a little deeper and get even more personal. Being a 17 year old girl, I can admit I have had my fair share of heartbreaks. But what a lot of people don't seem to understand, is that heartbreaks don't only occur when romantic relationships end. I am a firm believer heartbreaks also occur when certain friendships end.


I feel like this is such an awkward topic for most. Like who wants to openly admit that they have been sad enough over a person to consider themselves "heart broken?" It takes a lot to open up and share how people got over an ex or even a friend. Thats what I am here for! I want to share some tips I have gathered along the way.



Tip 1: Remember it is ok to miss someone.

Ahhhh dont we all just love egos. During a heartbreak a lot of people like to cover up their feelings because they don't want to seem "weak" or "easy." People like this drive me nuts. We all know how hard it is to go from talking to someone every day to not at all. It is normal to be sad and want to reach out. It is normal to miss someone you are trying to let go of.


Tip 2: Stay busy.

As much as you may want to just lay in bed and drown in your sorrows, that will make it worse. I know motivation is at an all time low during a heart break, but you need to keep your mind busy. Hang out with your friends, read a book, bake cookies, etc. You need to show yourself you can be happy without them. Get out of bed!!!!!!


Tip 3: Music!

I don't know if it's just me, but one of the best moments ever is when you find a song you can relate to. It in a weird way is comforting knowing others have felt the same way you have. When I get sad over someone, or even just in general, I like putting in my headphones and blocking everyone out. Music is an outlet for me and I hope it can be one for you too.


Tip 4: Take care of yourself.

Take a shower! Brush your teeth! Eat! Go to the gym! Everyday tasks seem to get hard. But, it is so important to make sure you feel good about yourself while you are going through a heart break. Self love needs to shine through during times like these.


Tip 5: Accept what has happened.

Move forward. I know you are probably so sick of hearing "everything happens for a reason," but I will scream it from the roof tops i'm so certain of this quote. The day you accept this is how life is going to be now, is the day things will start to get easier. It is all a mentality!


You will be ok I promise. Take it one day at a time. If I can get through it, so can you. I hope my tips help:)




42 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page